breathless

Here I am again. I apologise to those I promised more frequent updates to, but the past couple of weeks have been incredibly busy and I have arrived breathless (and with a bad case of tonsillitis) at these last few days. Last weekend I went completely internetless to dedicate myself to the festivities of two of my best friends’ wedding. I had the opportunity to hug again all those people that are literally scattered all over Italy and the World and that I hadn’t seen for ages, and it was the best way for me to charge that emotional battery I am going to need so much during the next few months.

As for the preparation, I have been incredibly busy procuring myself with a few last things and testing them, mapping out my gps route and (re)contacting hy hosts throughout that route, and all of that in what little free time I have, regardless of the fact I have been unemployed, as planned, since the day of my birthday. Given the early start of my preparation for this journey (or, rather, what I considered to be one), I never thought I would arrive breathless at these last few days before my departure: at which point I started to suspect that it is not really possible to be completely ready for such a journey. I would say it’s time to put together all the material I have gathered, organise it the best way I can, zip up my jacket and start walking. I have talked too much of this journey, arriving at that paradoxical state of recounting it without having done it yet, and it’s time to put an end to this schizophrenic rapport with a nice little walk to the north of Europe.

In a couple of days I’ll post a detailed schedule and other information on the journey for those who would like to keep track of my progress.

Leave a comment